Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Development Resources - Tools Of The Trade!
Whether like me you've got into this scene with no previous coding experience (well very, very, very little!) or you're a seasoned pro the chances are you're going to need somewhere to go for point of reference. We can't all remember everything there is to know and I know I'm always doing a google search and ending up at stackoverflow looking through examples of how to implement certain features. This thread is intended to help everyone from absolute noobs to professionals and I'll update the first post with any new useful links anyone wants to share.

XBMC/Kodi Add-on Creation

Python Koding from TotalRevolution! Check out the sticky threads on this board - there's some great templates you can use to get yourself up and running - NaN is used as the official forum for the Python Koding framework.

Addon.xml Tagging - Learn what information you can add to your addon.xml file. Don't miss out on this as there's some extremely useful things you can do in here which can improve both the functionality and popularity of your add-on.

XBMC Plugin Development - This is a very old guide but a great resource for anyone starting off, this will guide you through the process of making your very own video add-on. The simpler option is to use the Python Koding framework which makes a lot of the information here redundant as it does most of these things in the background for you. That being said the more you understand how the code works the better so it's definitely still a great resource and if you're not interested in using the Python Koding module then it's a great starting point.

Add-on Portal - Find out how to get your add-on/repo added to the Add-on Portal here at noobsandnerds. This is a resource which is used for categorising and installing add-ons and the Python Koding framework can hook into this information.

Built-in XBMC (Kodi) Commands: